Saturday, June 18, 2011

This Week's Live and Interactive Webinars in Blackboard Collaborate (Formerly Elluminate)

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through, the social learning network for education that I work on for Blackboard Collaborate (formerly Elluminate).

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

Tue 20 Jun 02:00AM New York / Tue 21 Jun 06:00AM GMT / Tue 21 Jun 04:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. Mel Cashen will share how she commenced blogging, how she uses it with her class and some of her favourite web 2.0 tools.

ISTE SIGVE SPEAKER SESSION (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 21 Jun 05:00PM New York / Tue 21 Jun 09:00PM GMT / Wed 22 Jun 07:00AM Sydney
Scott Merrick. Join this webinar for another Speaker Session.

Tue 21 Jun 09:00PM New York / Wed 22 Jun 01:00AM GMT / Wed 22 Jun 11:00AM Sydney
Tomas Chaskel. El proyecto de aula “ANA LA IGUANA DE VISITA EN CASA”, se convierte en una herramienta útil en el proceso de aprendizaje de los niños del grado preescolar del colegio INDUPALMA, Colombia, donde los padres son parte importante de esta idea, involucrándose en la estipulación y construcción de este proyecto.

ET@LKING: EVERNOTE! (Australia Series)
Wed 22 Jun 06:00AM New York / Wed 22 Jun 10:00AM GMT / Wed 22 Jun 08:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. Evernote allows you to make one note or 500,000. It is a popular online tool that allows you to take notes, clip web pages, snap photos, grab screenshots and then stores it all. Join us for this webinar, where Graham Clark will demonstrate how it works and why it is one of his favourite online tools. Please join us and share in the coversations.

CONCEPTUA MATH (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 22 Jun 09:30PM New York / Thu 23 Jun 01:30AM GMT / Thu 23 Jun 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Join Arjan Khalsa, Lauri Susi and David Robertshaw in discussing the software going from visuals to concepts & fluency.

Thu 23 Jun 10:30PM New York / Fri 24 Jun 02:30AM GMT / Fri 24 Jun 12:30PM Sydney
Coach Carole. The 2011 E-portfolios Implementation Trials have provided funding of up to $9,000 (plus in kind co-funding from each organisation) to two training organisations to investigate and identify the features of an e-portfolio system which supports workforce development requirements, and/or improves learner participation. The Two Trial Leaders will share their experiences of these trials. Ken Johnson from Victoria University, Victoria will share his experiences about the Scaffolding VCAL learners with e-portfoliosEIT trial which investigated how thePebblePad e-portfolio system an innovative approach to integrated delivery for the Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL). The aim is for the e-portfolio to help learners beyond the VCAL program. Ray Tuckey from Great Southern Institute of Technology, Western Australia will share his experiences about E-portfolios for Trainers – where trainers have been support to develop their own e-portfolio as part of their Cert IV in TAE to help them continue their lifelong learning using the Mahara e-portfolio system.

JUMP MATH (Math 2.0 Series)
Fri 24 Jun 02:00PM New York / Fri 24 Jun 06:00PM GMT / Sat 25 Jun 04:00AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. During the event, John Mighton will answer questions about the charitable organization JUMP Math.