Monday, November 01, 2010

Week of November 1, 2010 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

ANVILL: SPEECH-BASED TOOLS FOR FOREIGN LANGUAGE AND ESL EDUCATORS (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR SERIES)
Mon 1 Nov 06:00PM New York / Mon 1 Nov 10:00PM GMT / Tue 1 Nov 08:00AM Sydney
Jeff Magoto. Foreign language and ESL educators looking for speech-based web tools to complement their instruction should find the University of Oregon's National Virtual Language Lab (ANVILL) a useful addition to their online offerings. This first webinar of this academic year focuses on the core features of ANVILL, including: setting up a course of your own, designing spoken language tasks, and creating other kinds of lessons. Creating media-rich lessons in ANVILL is simple and straightforward. There are templates for audio, video, and image tasks; there are also tools for voice-based discussions forums. Whether you're linking to existing web content, or uploading your own texts or media files, ANVILL simplifies the process. ANVILL is free for all educators, and is aimed at both teachers in traditional face-to-face situations as well as at those who are doing distance or hybrid courses.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/113553/

EYES TO SEE: USING DIGITAL IMAGES IN THE CLASSROOM (TL CAFE)
Mon 1 Nov 08:00PM New York / Tue 1 Nov 12:00AM GMT / Tue 1 Nov 10:00AM Sydney
Gwyneth Jones. With the advent of inexpensive, simple to operate digital cameras, teachers and librarians have the opportunity to involve students in activities that are engaging and enriching. "Eyes to See" will explore various ways to enhance curriculum through the use of digital images.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/102392

PARENTS AS PARTNERS W/GEORGE COUROS PLANNING PARENT ENGAGEMENT (PARENTS AS PARTNERS)
Mon 1 Nov 09:00PM New York / Tue 1 Nov 01:00AM GMT / Tue 1 Nov 11:00AM Sydney
Lorna Costantini. George Couros, principal in Stony Plain Alberta joins show host Lorna Costantini in the 38th in a series of webcasts to talk about Planning parent engagement in his school.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/114680/

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: DIGITAL CHATTING: FAVOURITE WEBSITES, ONLINE TOOLS, ISSUES, CHALLENGES. (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Tue 1 Nov 12:45AM New York / Tue 1 Nov 04:45AM GMT / Tue 1 Nov 02:45PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. Bring along your favourite websites, projects, online tools, challenges, issues etc and we will discuss and share with each other. Upcoming conferences will also be discussed.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/115097

VICKI ABELES ON "RACE TO NOWHERE" (FUTURE OF EDUCATION)
Tue 2 Nov 08:00PM New York / Wed 2 Nov 12:00AM GMT / Wed 2 Nov 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve Hargadon for a live and interactive FutureofEducation.com interview with Vicki Abeles, director of RACE TO NOWHERE: The Dark Side of America's Achievement Culture. Concerned mother turned filmmaker, Vicki "ams her camera at the culture of hollow achievement and pressure to perform that has invaded America's schools." This culture, she argues, is "destroying our children╩╝s love of learning and feeding an epidemic of unprepared, disengaged, and unhealthy students."
http://www.learncentral.org/event/90720


ET@LKING: EMPOWERING LEARNING WITH TECHNOLOGY (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Wed 3 Nov 05:00AM New York / Wed 3 Nov 09:00AM GMT / Wed 3 Nov 07:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. Christine Redman is interested in using technology enhanced discussions to improve learning.The potential in WIKIs and Blogs to progressive student’s understandings in collaborative ways seems like highly positive way forward. This session will examine a structure that implies and supports choices for the use of technologies.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/113291

FINNODE SOCIAL ELEARNING WEBINAR (FUTURE OF EDUCATION)
Wed 3 Nov 11:00AM New York / Wed 3 Nov 03:00PM GMT / Thu 3 Nov 01:00AM Sydney
Maria Pineaar. We are delighted to invite you to the next FinNode Social eLearning webinar. During this webinar, four school leaders from the US and Finland will discuss how learning communities helped them transform their already successful schools into learning environments that open the world to their students.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/115993

MORE EVIDENCED-BASED ACTIVITIES TO BOOST YOUR HAPPINESS (ELLUMINATE LIVE EVENTS)
Wed 3 Nov 01:00PM New York / Wed 3 Nov 05:00PM GMT / Thu 3 Nov 03:00AM Sydney
Tracy Tagliati and Dr. Sivasailam "Thiagi" Thiagarajan. In this second webinar on happiness, we share half-a-dozen activities that increase your level of happiness in a measurable and sustainable fashion. In the two relationship activities, you learn how to react to bad news and good news from your partner. In the two strength-based activities, you learn to identify your strengths and to leverage them to in your professional and personal lives. In the two optimism activities, you envision your best possible future and bounce back resiliently from setbacks. Each of the six activities is supported by evidence from research in positive psychology. The session will also include a question-and-answer period.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/115995/

GAGA FOR GOOGLE DOCS PART 3: FORMS (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Wed 3 Nov 06:00PM New York / Wed 3 Nov 10:00PM GMT / Thu 3 Nov 08:00AM Sydney
Rochelle Rodrigo. Having access to a free and easy to use online survey tool is great; however, the power of Google Forms is in it’s collaborative and publication abilities. Come to this webinar to learn various tips and tricks to using Google Forms. We’ll also talk about ways to incorporate Google Forms into various teaching and learning activities.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/92764

IMAGINE EDUCATION: TEACHING MATH THROUGH STORIES AND GAMES (MATH 2.0)
Wed 3 Nov 09:30PM New York / Thu 3 Nov 01:30AM GMT / Thu 3 Nov 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Join Scott Laidlaw as he gives interview to Colleen King, and ask questions about Imagine Education project
http://www.learncentral.org/event/115780


EDUBLOGS FINE FOCUS - FACE TO FACEBOOK (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Thu 4 Nov 07:00PM New York / Thu 4 Nov 11:00PM GMT / Fri 4 Nov 09:00AM Sydney
Jo Hart. This week Jane Curry will Elluminate you with ideas on how to use Facebook with ESL youth. There are so many ways of collaborating on FB with a group of students, teachers, volunteers and social workers and other friends. Photography, discussions, posts, chatting, links to wallwisher, youtube, events and that's not all!! Collaborative teaching and learning, ....we are all learning.

INTERVIEW WITH STEVEN FARR ON TEACH FOR AMERICA (FUTURE OF EDUCATION)
Thu 4 Nov 08:00PM New York / Fri 4 Nov 12:00AM GMT / Fri 4 Nov 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon will interview Steven Farr on Teach for America and his book, Teaching as Leadership.

A WOMAN'S WALK IN GRACE - CHAPTER 3 (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR SERIES)
Thu 4 Nov 08:30PM New York / Fri 4 Nov 12:30AM GMT / Fri 4 Nov 10:30AM Sydney
Catherine Martin. Join Catherine Martin and others worldwide for the Chapter 3 Discussion For A Woman's Walk In Grace Study. This study is open to all who want to discover the magnificence of God's extravagant grace and experience it for themselves. You will learn that grace is God's love in action and it is "the face that love wears when it meets imperfection, weakness, failure, sin. Grace is what love does and is when it meets the sinful and undeserving."


MATH AND TECHNOLOGY (CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 6 Nov 12:00PM New York / Sat 6 Nov 04:00PM GMT / Sun 6 Nov 02:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Join Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George for a session with TED Talk's, Dan Meyer. Dan will discuss ways he uses technology in math instruction.