Sunday, July 03, 2011

Tuesday, July 5th - Live with Sandy Hirsh on the Future of Libraries and Librarians

Join me Tuesday, July 5th, for a live and interactive Future of Education interview with Sandy Hirsh, the director of the School of Library and Information Science (SLIS) at San José State University. We'll be talking all about the current and future state of libraries and librarians, and will also discuss our recently announced Library 2.011 worldwide virtual conference, for which she is the conference co-chair.

Date: Tuesday, July 5th, 2011
Time: 5pm Pacific / 8pm Eastern / 12am GMT (next day--international times here)
Duration: 1 hour
Location: In Elluminate. Log in at by clicking here. The Elluminate room will be open up to 30 minutes before the event if you want to come in early. To make sure that your computer is configured for Elluminate, please visit Recordings of the session will be posted within a day of the event here.
Event Recordings: The full Elluminate recording and an mp3-audio version will be posted within a day of the show. The LearnCentral event page is

Dr. Sandy Hirsh is director of the School of Library and Information Science (SLIS) at San José State University ( SLIS is the largest accredited library and information science program in the world.  With their office located on the San José State University campus, and through their online program, they serve students throughout the entire state of California as well as other states and nations.

Dr. Hirsh has been a faculty member at several academic institutions, as a librarian in academic and special libraries, and more than a decade in leadership positions with Silicon Valley's leading global companies such as Hewlett-Packard, Microsoft, and LinkedIn. She is a recognized advocate for library services, has an extensive record of research in the field, and has been actively involved in leadership roles with professional associations.